University of Kent
University of Kent


University of Kent  Ranking



University of Kent  Location

South England

University of Kent University of Kent


University Ranking




South England


Commonwealth Shared Scholarship
Scholarship Name Commonwealth Shared Scholarship
Academic Year 2019
Nationality Any
Scholarship Deadline 1 April 2019

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships, set up by DFID in 1986, represent a unique partnership between the United Kingdom government and UK Universities.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Shared Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK. 

These scholarships are offered under six themes:
- Science and technology for development
- Strengthening health systems and capacity
- Promoting global prosperity
- Strengthening global peace, security and governance
- Strengthening resilience and response to crises
- Access, inclusion and opportunity


To be eligible to apply for this scholarship, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen a permanent resident or have been granted refugee status by one of the eligible Commonwealth countries listed at: eligible Commonwealth countries
  • Hold an undergraduate degree at UK first class level equivalent. 
  • Be committed to the University of Kent and have not applied to other institutions who are also nominating them for an award.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country. 
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.
  • Return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete. In some circumstances a student may be permitted to remain in the UK if seeing doctoral study and they satisfy certain strict conditions. 
  • Hold an unconditional offer by the deadline for a full-time postgraduate taught degree on one of the eligible courses at the University of Kent (Canterbury Campus):
    - MSc Management (International Business)
    - MSc Advanced Electronic Systems Engineering
    - MA International Conflict Analysis
    - MA Multimedia Journalism
    - MA Social Anthropology and Conflict
    - LLM Law
    - MSc Conservation and Rural Development

How to apply

To be considered for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship you must: 
• Make a formal application for a postgraduate degree at the University of Kent commencing September 2019/20.  This can be done online via
 • Complete the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) electronic application (EAS). This can be done online at 

Applications will be considered based on Academic Excellence and a completed EAS application. 

For further information and full terms and conditions please see


1 April 2019 at Midnight (GMT)

add to favourites
Interested in this School?
SI-UK's service is fast, reliable and efficient. My consultant improved my chances of getting into a top university.
Carla Termini
International Business Economics at City University

Read more testimonials

  • University of Greenwich
  • Study at University of Glasgow
  • Study at University of Kent
  • Study at University of Oxford
  • Study at University of East Anglia
  • Study at London School of Economics
  • Study at University of Liverpool