SI-UK assures EU students following Brexit decision

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. Please let us know if you agree to these cookies. By continuing to browse our site, we assume you agree to cookie usage.

SI-UK assures EU students following Brexit decision

29 June 2016


SI-UK Education Council has moved to assure EU students that there will be no major changes to the EU landscape for at least two years following the UK’s decision to leave the European Union.

As confirmed by University Minister Jo Johnson: “Students from the European Union starting university courses in the UK this autumn will have their student loans funding honoured”. Mr Johnson also tweeted: "the UK welcomes EU students." Key points include:

  • Current EU students: The immigration status of students from other EU countries remains unchanged, and their right to student loans is also unaffected, until any changes are agreed by the UK Government as part of the exit negotiations.
  • EU students applying to enter in 2016/17: The current arrangements will also remain in place for those who have applied for and are expecting to begin university courses.
  • EU students applying to enter in 2017/18: Immigration status and access to loans are unaffected at this stage. Any future changes will be decided by the UK Government as part of the exit negotiations.

SI-UK will inform all students once further updates have been released by the UK government. It is our belief that the UK will sign a free trade agreement with the EU though, meaning that there is a free movement of people and students throughout the EU.


SI-UK's service is fast, reliable and efficient. Their consultants are specialists, working closely with all UK universities and, through my consultants advice and application assistance, I was able to receive offers from my favoured universities.

Carla Termini King's College London, Accounting and Finance

  • university-college-london
  • manchester
  • University of Birmingham
  • sheffield
  • southampton
  • manchester
  • exeter
  • cardiff
  • warwick
  • loughborough
  • edinburgh
  • bristol
  • lancaster
  • durham
  • bath
  • york
  • st-andrews
  • sussex
  • nottingham
  • aberdeen