UK and Nepal Education Systems

UK Education System

GCSE - General Certificate of Secondary Education: Level 2 of the NQF Framework for GCSEs grades A* - C. Students can take up to 9-12 GCSE’s including English and Math at A*-C level.

GCSE's are available in more than 40 academic and nine 'applied' subjects. The applied subjects are focused to wider areas of work such as engineering. When you take GCSE’s you can achieve pass grades from A* to G. If you don't achieve the minimum pass mark to get a grade G, then a U grade is awarded, which means 'unclassified’. Learn more about GCSE's.

A-Levels - A-Levels are made up of the AS (advanced subsidiary) level and the A2. Each year makes up 50 per cent of the overall A level grade. This forms level 3 of the NQF qualifications framework.

A-Levels Grades - AS and A-Levels are graded A to E.

(A: 80 -100; B: 70 - 79; C: 60 - 69; D: 50 - 59; E: 40 - 49) Find a full guide to A-Levels here.

Colleges of further education and sixth-form colleges also offer academic, technical and vocational courses for people over the age of 16. Here is a list of UK colleges which offer vocational courses.

Students can also choose to take The International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma. This programme is an internationally recognised qualification for students aged 16 to 19. It is level 3 of NQF qualifications framework and is focused on the study of a wide variety of subjects, including languages, science, maths, history, arts and geography.

Undergraduate Study in UK

Universities and Colleges Admission Service (UCAS)

SI–UK uses UCAS for undergraduate applications on behalf of Nepalese students. UCAS is responsible for managing applications to higher education courses in the UK, and UCAS process more than two million applications for full-time undergraduate courses every year.

Foundation Degree in UK - Level 5 of FHEQ / NQF qualifications framework

Students can opt to study a Foundation Degree which is a university level qualification involving the first two years of an honours degree. Upon obtaining a Foundation Degree, students may ‘top up’ their qualification to an honours degree.

Undergraduate studies in UK takes three years to complete in most cases, leading to a qualification such as a bachelor of arts (BA), bachelor of science (BSc) - level 6 of NQF/ FHEQ. You will need a minimum of four years study if you are choosing a sandwich program which involves practical work accompanied by coursework. It can be longer if studying MB – Bachelor’s in Medicine.

Grades Equivalent Percentages
First 70+
Upper-second (2:1) 60 -69
Lower second (2:2) 50–59
*Third 40–49
Pass 35–40

A third or above means you receive a bachelors degree with honours.

Postgraduate Study in UK

You can study in the UK by choosing programmes like Postgraduate diplomas and Postgraduate certificates in a subject that interests you. You can also study a one years’ Masters Degree specialising in areas such as the Level 7 of NQF/ FHEQ.

Grades are normally awarded as:

Doctorates/PhD - Level 8 of NQF/ FHEQ qualifications framework.

A doctorate qualification or Research degree gives you the opportunity to undertake an original piece of research. It usually takes at least three years of full-time study to complete a PhD. Doctorates are normally awarded as either a pass or fail also in some cases with a distinction.


Studying in the UK

SI-UK's service is fast, reliable and efficient. Their consultants are specialists, working closely with all UK universities and, through my consultants' advice and application assistance, I was able to receive offers from my favoured universities.

Carla Termini King's College London, Accounting and Finance

  • university-college-london
  • manchester
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Leeds
  • sheffield
  • southampton
  • manchester
  • exeter
  • cardiff
  • warwick
  • loughborough
  • edinburgh
  • bristol
  • lancaster
  • durham
  • bath
  • york
  • st-andrews
  • sussex
  • nottingham
  • aberdeen